This Light Between Us: A Novel of World War II

by Fukuda, Andrew
3.9 out of 5 Customer Rating
ISBN: 9781250192394
Availability:
$5.49
Used - Trade Paperback - 9781250192394

Overview

For readers of The Librarian Of Auschwitz, This Light Between Us by Andrew Fukuda is a powerfully affecting story of World War II about the unlikeliest of pen pals--a Japanese American boy and a French Jewish girl--as they fight to maintain hope in a time of war.

"I remember visiting Manzanar and standing in the windswept plains where over ten thousand internees were once imprisoned, their voices cut off. I remember how much I wanted to write a story that did right by them. Hopefully this book delivers."--Andrew Fukuda

In 1935, ten-year-old Alex Maki from Bainbridge Island, Washington is disgusted when he's forced to become pen pals with Charlie L vy of Paris, France--a girl. He thought she was a boy. In spite of Alex's reluctance, their letters continue to fly across the Atlantic--and along with them, the shared hopes and dreams of friendship. Until the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor and the growing Nazi persecution of Jews force them to confront the darkest aspects of human nature.

From the desolation of an internment camp on the plains of Manzanar to the horrors of Auschwitz and the devastation of European battlefields, the only thing they can hold onto are the memories of their letters. But nothing can dispel the light between them.

"A fresh story of the internment of Japanese Americans and the Japanese American experience...Grounded in meticulous historical research and deals with both internment and life on the war front. Recommended where historical novels are popular...this one adds an important perspective to World War II fiction." --School Library Journal

"Fukuda artfully conveys Alex's inner turmoil and paints visceral combat scenes...An intriguing premise and fascinating tale." --Kirkus Reviews

  • Format: TradePaperback
  • Author: Fukuda, Andrew
  • ISBN: 9781250192394
  • Condition: Used
  • Dimensions: 8.20 x 1.10
  • Number Of Pages: 384
  • Publication Year: 2021

Customer Reviews